The JMMM Commemoration Society is a working group that was established in 2020 by the Ancre Somme Association. Scotland.


The Society consists of members of National, Regional and Local Government as well as 22 SAS Veterans and member the Ancre Somme Association Scotland.


The Society meets each month to discuss progress of the project.


The aims of the John McAleese MM Commemoration Society:


1. To raise funds for a sculpture of John McAleese MM, to be erected in the town of Laurieston, Scotland.


2. To organise a programme of events to commemorate the heroic actions of John McAleese MM.


3. To leave a legacy, engaging with schools and the community.






Rusty Firmin - Patron (22 SAS Veteran)

William Buchanan - Honorary President

John Jenkins - Chairman

Tommy Davidson - Secretary

Derek Stewart - Treasurer




Alexander Stewart MBE MSP - Honorary Ambassador

James McAleese - Honorary Ambassador (Family)

Gerry Bonner - Honorary Ambassador (22 SAS Veteran)

Stuart McVicar -  Honorary Ambassador

WO2 John Knox - Royal Regiment of Scotland

David Birrell - Honorary Ambassador (Veteran)

Alison Moodie OBE - Honorary Ambaasador (RAF Veteran)